RSS

Lenten Promises

22 Feb

Lent is absolutely one of my favorite liturgical seasons in the Catholic Church.  It’s a time for prayer and reflection, opening our eyes to our own lives as well as the wider community in the world.

I remember as a child I would always “give something up”… such as chocolate or candy etc.  This worked well back then, and the overall message began to sink in.  In recent years I have continued to give up something small, but I have coupled that with doing something extra.  I have gone to daily mass once a week, or reflected and journaled daily.  I like this because these activities provide an opportunity to awareness and conscious thought… what I see as the perfect need at this point in my life.

It has taken me a while to figure out, but I finally know what I am giving up and doing extra.  The overall goal is to have that sacrifice while also becoming more in tune with my faith and the world.

I don’t really want to say what I am giving up/doing just yet (mainly because I hate it when people “police” other people’s Lenten promises, haha).  But I promise to stick to it, and I’ll give you a full update in 47 days 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Life, The World, Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
